Questions About Cancer? 1-800-4-CANCER

Research Program Contacts

Find NCI Program Director Contacts for the following Divisions, Centers, and Offices

NCI Divisions

NCI Centers, Offices, and Programs


NCI Divisions

Find NCI Staff and Program Director contacts for the following NCI Divisions

Division of Cancer Biology (DCB)

DCB supports and coordinates research projects in basic cancer biology at universities, hospitals, research foundations, and businesses across the United States and abroad.
DCB Staff Directory

Cancer Cell Biology
Dr. Barbara Spalholz
301-276-6230
spalholb@mail.nih.gov

Cancer Etiology
Dr. Donald Blair
240-276-6190
blaird@mail.nih.gov

Cancer Immunology and Hematology
Dr. R. Allan Mufson
240-276-6200
mufsona@mail.nih.gov

DNA and Chromosome Aberrations
Dr. Judy Mietz
240-276-6250
mietzj@mail.nih.gov

Structural Biology and Molecular Applications
Dr. Jennifer Couch
240-276-6210
couchj@mail.nih.gov

Tumor Biology and Metastasis
Dr. Suresh Mohla
240-276-6220
mohlas@mail.nih.gov

DCB Programs

Mouse Models of Human Cancers Consortium
Dr. Cheryl Marks
240-276-6180
marksc@mail.nih.gov

Integrative Cancer Biology Program
Dr. Daniel Gallahan
240-276-6180
gallahad@mail.nih.gov

Tumor Microenvironment Network
Dr. Suresh Mohla
240-276-6220
mohlas@mail.nih.gov


Division of Cancer Control & Population Sciences (DCCPS)

DCCPS supports a comprehensive program of genetic, epidemiologic, behavioral, social, and surveillance cancer research.
DCCPS Staff Directory

Process of Care Research
Dr. Steven Taplin
240-276-6947
taplins@mail.nih.gov

Basic Biobehavioral and Psychological Sciences
Dr. Paige McDonald
240-276-6899
mcdonalp@mail.nih.gov

Cancer Statistics
Dr. Kathleen Cronin
240-276-6836
cronink@mail.nih.gov

Data Modeling
Dr. Angela Mariotto
240-276-6698
Angela_mariotto@nih.gov

Cancer Survivorship
Dr. Julia Rowland
240-276-6827
rowlandj@mail.nih.gov

Clinical and Translational Epidemiology
Dr. Andrew Freedman
240-276-6697
freedmaa@mail.nih.gov

Implementation Science
Dr. Cynthia Vinson
240-276-6745
cvinson@mail.nih.gov

Health Communication and Informatics
Dr. Bradford W. Hesse
240-276-6721
hesseb@mail.nih.gov

Health Behaviors
Dr. Linda Nebeling
240-276-6855
nebelinl@mail.nih.gov

Health Services and Economics Research
Dr. Ann Geiger
240-276-6995
geigeram@mail.nih.gov

Host Susceptibility Research
Dr. Elizabeth Gillanders
240-276-6764
lgilland@mail.nih.gov

Methods and Technologies Research
Dr. Mukesh Verma
240-276-6889
vermam@mail.nih.gov

Modified Risk Factors
Dr. Britt Reid
240-276-6725
reidbr@mail.nih.gov

Outcomes Research
Dr. Steven B. Clauser
240-276-6948
clausers@mail.nih.gov

Risk Factor Monitoring and Methods
Dr. Susan M. Krebs-Smith
240-276-6949
krebssms@mail.nih.gov

Statistical Methodology and Applications
Dr. Eric J. "Rocky" Feuer
240-276-6772
feuerr@exchange.nih.gov

Tobacco Control Research
Dr. Michele Bloch
240-276-6878
blochm@mail.nih.gov
 

Surveillance Systems
Dr. Zaria Tatalovich
240-276-6976
tatalovichzp@mail.nih.gov


Division of Cancer Prevention (DCP)

DCP supports research to determine and reduce a person's risk of developing cancer, as well as research to develop and evaluate cancer screening procedures.
DCP Staff Directory

Biometry
Dr. Philip Prorok
301-496-7709
prorokp@mail.nih.gov

Breast and Gynecologic Cancer
Dr. Terri Cornelison
301-402-3963
cornelit@mail.nih.gov

Cancer Biomarkers
Dr. Sudhir Srivastava
301-496-3983
srivasta@mail.nih.gov

Chemopreventive Agent Development
Dr. Vernon Steele
301-594-0420
steelev@mail.nih.gov

Community Oncology & Prevention Trials
Dr. Lori Minasian
301-594-7868
minasilo@mail.nih.gov
Early Detection
Dr. Christine Berg
301-496-1071
bergc@mail.nih.gov

Gastrointestinal and Other Cancers
Dr. Asad Umar
301-594-7671
umara@mail.nih.gov

Lung and Upper Aerodigestive Cancer
Dr. Eva Szabo
301-435-2456
szaboe@mail.nih.gov

Nutritional Science
Dr. John Milner
301-496-0118
milnerj@mail.nih.gov

Prostate and Urologic Cancer
Dr. Howard Parnes
301-402-3606
parnesh@nih.gov

Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis (DCTD)

DCTD supports the translation of promising research areas into improved diagnostic and therapeutic interventions for cancer patients.
DCTD Staff Directory


NCI Centers, Offices, and Programs

Find NCI Program Director contacts for the following NCI Centers, Offices, and Selected Programs.

Center for Cancer Training (CCT)
CCT provides funding to support training and career development for cancer researchers working at institutions nationwide and also manages intramural training programs offered at NCI laboratories and offices.
CCT Staff Directory

Dr. Ming Lei
240-276-5630
leim@mail.nih.gov

Center for Global Health (CGH) 
CGH facilitates global collaboration by leveraging research resources with U.S. government agencies, foreign governments, non-government organizations, and pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies.
CGH web site

Dr. Edward Trimble
240-276-5796
trimblet@mail.nih.gov

Center to Reduce Cancer Health Disparities (CRCHD)
CRCHD supports the reduction of cancer health disparities in diverse populations through research, training, and partnerships.
CRCHD Staff Directory

Diversity Research
Dr. Nelson Aguila
240-276-6161
aguilah@mail.nih.gov
Diversity Training
Dr. Peter Ogunbiyi
240-276-6176
Peter.Ogunbiyi@nih.gov

Center for Strategic Scientific Initiatives (CSSI) CSSI provides support for innovative programs that includes clinical proteomics, cancer genomics, nanotechnology, and physical sciences cancer research.
CSSI Staff Directory

The Center for Cancer Genomics (CCG) manges TCGA and OCG
OCG supports programs that will enhance our understanding of the molecular mechanisms of cancer.

Office of Cancer Genomics
Dr Daniela Gerhard
301-451-8027
gerhardd@mail.nih.gov

Office of Cancer Clinical Proteomics
OCCPR supports the development of technologies and reagents that will advance our understanding of protein biology in cancer

Dr. Henry Rodriguez
301-451-8883
rodriguezh@mail.nih.gov

Office of Nanotechnology Research
OCNR directs the NCI Alliance for Nanotechnology in Cancer program that supports the application of nanotechnology to all aspects of cancer research.

Dr. Piotr Grodzinski
301-594-6345
grodzinp@mail.nih.gov

Innovative Molecular Analysis Technologies Program (IMAT)
IMAT is a NCI initiative that supports the development of novel technologies that support clinical, laboratory, and epidemiology cancer research.
IMAT Staff Directory

Dr. Tony Dickherber
301-547-9980
anthony.dickherber@nih.gov

Office of HIV and AIDS Malignancies (OHAM)
OHAM coordinates HIV/AIDS research throughout the NCI, including programs in AIDS-related cancer. 
OHAM Staff Directory

Dr. Robert Yarchoan
301-496-0328
yarchoan@helix.nih.gov

Provocative Questions Program (PQ)
PQ is a NCI initiative that intends to assemble a list of important questions, or problems that are paradoxes in cancer research that will stimulate research communities to use laboratory, clinical, and population sciences in new, effective, and imaginative ways.
PQ web site

Dr. Emily Greenspan
301-451-0943
emily.greenspan@mail.nih.gov

Small Business & Small Business Technology Transfer (SBIR/STTR)
SBIR and STTR programs seek to increase small business and private sector participation to develop and commercialize novel technologies to prevent, diagnose, and treat cancer.
SBIR/STTR Staff Directory

Michael Weingarten
240-276-5238
weingartenm@mail.nih.gov

Back to TopBack to Top

  • Updated: April 6, 2012