Questions About Cancer? 1-800-4-CANCER
  • Print
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • Pinterest

Breast Cancer Steering Committee

The Breast Cancer Intergroup (TBCI) began its transition to the NCI Breast Cancer Steering Committee (BCSC) at the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) Breast Cancer Symposium in September 2008 in Washington DC. The TBCI and the National Surgical Adjuvant Breast and Bowel Project (NSABP) came together along with the Correlative Science Committee chair of the TBCI to form the BCSC. Members of the BCSC include all Cooperative Group breast cancer disease committee chairs, representatives from the Specialized Programs of Research Excellence (SPOREs), Cancer Centers and R01/P01 investigators along with community oncologists, biostatisticians, patient advocates, and NCI staff.

Mission Statement

The BCSC functions to coordinate an efficient, cost-effective, science-driven, and transparent process that will identify and promote the "Best Science" in breast cancer clinical research by addressing the design and prioritization of phase III trials in breast cancer and large phase II studies.

Roster of Breast Cancer Steering Committee (BCSC) members
Thomas Buchholz, M.D. and Nancy Davidson, M.D., Co-chairs 

Task Forces

  • BOLD (Breast Oncology Local Disease): Thomas Julian, M.D. and Rich Zellars, M.D., Co-chairs

Clinical Trial Planning Meetings (CTPM)

The Goal of CTPMs is to:

  • identify strategic directions for clinical trials in a specific field
    • reach consensus on the most important clinical trials to conduct;
    • identify portfolio gaps and emerging scientific opportunities;
    • identify innovative trial design opportunities;
  • facilitate innovation and collaboration among the broad oncology community active in the specific cancer under study

List of Clinical Trial Planning Meetings (CTPM) Executive Summaries and Publications 


To search all active clinical trials, go to:

Investigator Resources

CCCT Contact: Jennifer Hayes, Ph.D.