Questions About Cancer? 1-800-4-CANCER
  • Print
  • email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • Pinterest

Table 1. Myelodysplastic Syndromes: Comparison of the FAB and WHO Classifications

FAB (1982) WHO (2008) 
AML = acute myeloid leukemia; FAB = French-American-British classification scheme; MDS = myelodysplastic syndromes; WHO = World Health Organization.
Myelodysplastic Syndromes
Refractory anemia.Refractory anemia.
Refractory cytopenia with multilineage dysplasia. Refractory cytopenia with unilineage dysplasia.
Refractory anemia with ring sideroblasts.Refractory anemia with ring sideroblasts.
Refractory anemia with excess blasts.Refractory anemia with excess blasts -1 and -2.
Myelodysplastic syndrome, unclassifiable.
Myelodysplastic syndrome associated with del(5q).
Reclassified from MDS to:
Refractory anemia with excess blasts in transformation.Acute myeloid leukemia identified as AML with multilineage dysplasia following a myelodysplastic syndrome.
Chronic myelomonocytic leukemia.Myelodysplastic and myeloproliferative diseases.