Skip to main content
An official website of the United States government

NCI Senior Leadership

NCI Director Dr. Rathmell stands in front of the U.S. flag, smiling with her arms crossed

Dr. W. Kimryn Rathmell

Director, National Cancer Institute

Douglas R. Lowy, M.D.

Principal Deputy Director, National Cancer Institute

Amber Lowery

Acting Deputy Director for Management, Office of Management
Acting Executive Officer

Dinah S. Singer, Ph.D.

Deputy Director, Scientific Strategy & Development

Brigitte C. Widemann, M.D.

Special Advisor to the Director for Childhood Cancer

Anne Lubenow

Chief of Staff

Jill S. Barnholtz-Sloan, Ph.D.

Acting Director, Center for Biomedical Informatics & Information Technology

Oliver Bogler, Ph.D.

Director, Center for Cancer Training

Philip E. Castle, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Director, Division of Cancer Prevention

Stephen J. Chanock, M.D.

Director, Division of Cancer Epidemiology & Genetics

Henry P. Ciolino, Ph.D.

Director, Office of Cancer Centers

Headshot of Dr. James Doroshow

James H. Doroshow, M.D.

Director, Division of Cancer Treatment & Diagnosis

TTC Director Suzanne Frisbie Headshot

Suzanne Frisbie, Ph.D.

Director, Technology Transfer Center


Dan Gallahan, Ph.D.

Director, Division of Cancer Biology

Peter F. Garrett

Director, Office of Communications & Public Liaison

Katrina A. B. Goddard, Ph.D.

Director, Division of Cancer Control & Population Sciences

Dr. Satish Gopal

Satish Gopal, M.D., M.P.H.

Director, Center for Global Health

Paulette Gray, Ph.D.

Director, Division of Extramural Activities


James L. Gulley, M.D., Ph.D.

Acting Co-Director and NCI Clinical Director, Center for Cancer Research


Toby T. Hecht, Ph.D.

Deputy Director, Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis Associate Director, Translational Research Program


Kristin Komschlies, Ph.D.

Acting Director, NCI Frederick Office of Scientific Operations

Glenn Merlino, Ph.D.

Acting Co-Director and Scientific Director for Basic Research, Center for Cancer Research


Diane Palmieri, Ph.D.

Director, Center for Research Strategy

Sheila Prindiville, M.D., M.P.H.

Director, Coordinating Center for Clinical Trials

Henry Rodriguez, Ph.D., M.S., M.B.A.

Director, Office of Cancer Clinical Proteomics Research

Headshot of Sharon A. Savage, M.D.

Sharon A. Savage, M.D.

Clinical Director, Division of Cancer Epidemiology & Genetics

Jeffrey Shilling

Chief Information Officer

Sanya A. Springfield, Ph.D.

Director, Center to Reduce Cancer Health Disparities

Louis M. Staudt, M.D., Ph.D.

Director, Center for Cancer Genomics

Michael Weingarten, M.A.

Director, Small Business Innovation Research & Small Business Technology Transfer Programs

Robert Yarchoan, M.D.

Director, Office of HIV & AIDS Malignancy