Skip to main content
An official website of the United States government

Recipients of Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Awards Announced

  • Posted:
NCI Press Office


NCI’s Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Awards recognize and support outstanding mid-career clinical investigators at NCI-Designated Cancer Centers who participate extensively in NCI-funded collaborative clinical trials and whose leadership, participation, and activities promote a culture of successful clinical research. Established in 2009, the awards are intended to help retain investigators in academic clinical research careers. This year, 11 investigators nationwide have received the award. Each of these investigators is a full-time faculty member who is a board-certified physician and has practiced medicine between 3 and 10 years post-fellowship. The 2014 awardees will be formally announced by James H. Doroshow, M.D., NCI Deputy Director for Clinical and Translational Research, at the NCI Clinical Trials and Translational Research Advisory Committee Meeting, held Wednesday, November 12, 2014.

Each recipient was nominated for the award by his/her Cancer Center Director on the basis of qualifications, interests, accomplishments, and motivation, and based upon the nominee's intent and ability to promote a successful clinical research culture and to pursue an academic career in clinical research. The awardees will devote 15 to 20 percent effort to the activities associated with this award, and the sponsoring Cancer Centers have agreed to protect the awardees’ time for these activities. The award provides partial salary support for 2 years for the awardee to engage in activities and efforts related to the award. The awardees for 2014 include:

  • Neeraj Agarwal, M.D., University of Utah Huntsman Cancer Institute
  • Robert Chen, M.D., City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Michael Gibson, M.D., Ph.D., Case Comprehensive Cancer Center, Case Western Reserve University
  • Theodore Hong, M.D., Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center
  • R. Kate Kelley, M.D., UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Araz Marachelian, M.D., M.S., USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Stergios Moschos, M.D., UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Rita Nanda, M.D., University of Chicago Medicine Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Daniel Persky, M.D., University of Arizona Cancer Center
  • Erin Reid, M.D., M.S, UCSD Moores Cancer Center
  • Teresa Rutledge, M.D., University of New Mexico Cancer Center

To learn more about this award visit: