Skip to main content
An official website of the United States government

NCI scientists awarded National Medal of Technology and Innovation by President Obama

  • Posted:
NCI Press Office


President Obama announced that two NCI scientists would be recipients of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation -- the nation's highest honor for technological achievement. The honorees, John Schiller, Ph.D., Laboratory of Cellular Oncology (LCO), Center for Cancer Research, NCI, and Douglas Lowy, M.D., also from LCO and NCI deputy director, will receive their medals at a White House ceremony later in 2014. Awarded annually, the National Medal of Technology and Innovation recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to science and engineering. Lowy and Schiller have been honored numerous times, for example in 2011 with the Albert B. Sabin Gold Medal Award. Their discoveries enabled the development of HPV vaccines. As a direct result of Lowy’s and Schiller’s research, vaccines now exist that safely protect against infection with the HPV types that cause most cervical cancers in women and anal and oral cancers in both sexes, as well as HPV types that cause genital warts in both sexes.

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation was created by statute in 1980 and is administered for the White House by the U.S. Department of Commerce's Patent and Trademark Office. The Medal recognizes those who have made lasting contributions to America's competitiveness and quality of life and helped strengthen the nation's technological workforce. A distinguished independent committee representing the private and public sectors submits recommendations to the President.