Committees of Interest

  • Resize font
  • Print
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • Pinterest
Credit: iStock

Below are the specific committees that appropriate funds, authorize programs, or oversee activities of the National Cancer Institute.

Appropriations Committees

Appropriations committees provide the funding for federal programs.


Committee on Appropriations

Chair: Rodney Frelinghuysen - NJ

Ranking: Nita Lowey - NY

Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education and Related Agencies

Chair: Tom Cole - OK

Ranking: Rosa DeLauro - CT


Committee on Appropriations

Chair: Thad Cochran - MS

Ranking: Patrick Leahy - VT

Subcommittee on Labor, HHS, Education and Related Agencies

Chair: Roy Blunt - MO

Ranking: Patty Murray - WA

Authorizing Committees

Authorizing committees write laws that either create new or renew existing federal programs.


Committee on Energy and Commerce

Chair: Greg Walden - OR

Ranking: Frank Pallone, Jr. - NJ

Subcommittee on Health

Chair: Michael Burgess - TX

Ranking: Gene Green - TX


Committee on Health, Education, Labor, & Pensions

Chair: Lamar Alexander - TN

Ranking: Patty Murray - WA

Oversight Committees

Oversight committees conduct audits on federal programs to ensure that the public trust is not misused or broken.


Committee on Oversight and Government Reform

Chair: Jason Chaffetz - UT

Ranking: Elijah Cummings - MD

Committee on Energy and Commerce Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations

Chair: Tim Murphy - PA

Ranking: Diana DeGette - CO


Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs

Chair: Ron Johnson - WI

Ranking: Claire McCaskill - MO

Subcommittee on Federal Spending Oversight and Emergency Management

Chair: Rand Paul - KY

Ranking: Tammy Baldwin - WI

Subcommittee on Regulatory Affairs and Federal Management

Chair: James Lankford - OK

Ranking: Heidi Heitkamp - ND

Cancer Groups

Groups formed by members who share a common interest in improving cancer research.


House Cancer Caucus

Co-chairs: Charlie Dent (R-PA), Brian Higgins (D-NY), Derek Kilmer (D-WA), and Kevin Yoder (R-KS)

Childhood Cancer Caucus

Co-chairs: Michael McCaul (R-TX), Jackie Speier (D-CA), Mike Kelly (R-PA), and G.K. Butterfield (D-NC)


Senate Cancer Coalition

Co-chairs: Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) and Johnny Isakson (R-GA)

  • Updated: February 13, 2017