Skip to main content

Center for Research Strategy Contact and Staff

Center for Research Strategy
31 Center Drive, MSC 2580
Building 31, Room 10A10
Bethesda, MD 20892-2580

Phone: 240-781-3290

Staff Directory

L. Michelle Bennett, Ph.D.

L. Michelle Bennett, Ph.D.

Director, NCI Center for Research Strategy

Dr. Bennett directs the Center for Research Strategy, a science-based office that since 2015 collaboratively develops recommendations for addressing scientific opportunities, monitors the direction and application of the NCI’s scientific knowledge and resources, and identifies research funding gaps. Prior to taking on this role, she served as the deputy scientific director of the Division of Intramural Research at the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute and before that was deputy director at NCI’s Center for Cancer Research. Dr. Bennett earned her Ph.D. in oncology from the University of Wisconsin–Madison studying genetic susceptibility to cancer and, as a postdoctoral fellow at the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, performed some of the earliest work on BRCA1 and BRCA2 including the characterization and localization of BRCA1 to the long arm of Chromosome 17.

Dr. Bennett has extensive practical experience in promoting collaboration and team-based approaches by bringing together research scientists with diverse backgrounds and expertise to solve complex scientific problems. She is a facilitator sought by individuals, teams, and institutions to help them devise strategies to promote collaboration and team-based approaches to scientific research. This work is conducted through seminars and workshops to help researchers better understand how they can apply strategies to build strong scientific teams.

Dr. Bennett has supported efforts to increase diversity in the biomedical workforce, played a leadership role in launching and building the NIH Stadtman Tenure Track Investigator program, and developed a trans-NIH web presence for the NIH Intramural program. She is the recipient of many awards, including NIH and Institute Director’s Awards, the NCI Women’s Scientist Advisors Achievement Award, and the NCI Exceptional Mentor Award.

Diane Palmieri, Ph.D.
Deputy Director

Laura Brockway-Lunardi, Ph.D.
Health Science Analyst

Christine Burgess, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Joshua Collins, Ph.D.
Scientific Program Analyst (detail)

Sheila Feimster, B.A.
Operations Coordinator

Roman Gorelik, Ph.D.
Scientific Program Analyst

Elizabeth Hoffman, Ph.D.
Health Science Policy Analyst

Grace Liou, Ph.D.
Scientific Program Analyst

Christophe Marchand, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Darlene Summers, M.A.
Technical Writer

  • Updated: