Skip to main content
An official website of the United States government

National Cryo-Electron Microscopy Facility Team Members

The National Cryo-EM Facility (NCEF) consists of a core team that provides cryo-EM services to cancer researchers.  The Frederick National Lab Advisory Committee and an ad hoc NCEF working group provides strategic oversight and recommendations to the core team.

National Cryo-EM Team

Thomas Edwards, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist

Thomas Edwards earned his Ph.D. in Molecular Virology focusing on structural studies of intra-cellular virus induced membranes formed during infection by alphaviruses and flaviviruses. In addition to virology, Thomas has expertise in electron tomography and single particle cryo-EM.

Adam Wier, Ph.D.

Adam Wier earned his Ph.D in structural and molecular biology with a focus on structural studies of protein complexes regulating transcription. He has experience in single particle cryoEM, sample preparation, data collection, and data processing.

Tara Fox, Ph.D.

Tara Fox earned her PhD from Case Western Reserve University focusing on Structural Biology methods for analyzing engineered viruses and for evaluating nanoparticles in development for drug delivery. She has expertise in single particle data collection, tomography, structural analysis, data management for cryoEM, and Bash scripting in various scientific computing environments.

Zhiqing Wang, Ph.D.

Zhiqing (Jenny) Wang earned her Ph.D. from Baylor College of Medicine. She had been working on structural studies of viruses and viral proteins using CryoEM and X-ray crystallography for more than 10 years before joining NCEF team. She has experience in sample preparation, data collection, and data processing.

Joseph Finney
Software Engineer

Joseph Finney earned his BS in Systems Engineering with experience in systems integration and process improvement. He has worked in a variety of languages creating united workflows from discrete software packages.  In addition, he has a working knowledge of data management and system administration, and has a background in statistical analysis and system testing.

Vladimir Veremeychik
Vladimir Veremeychik
Software Developer

Vladimir (Vlad) Veremeychik earned his MS in Computer Science with experience in software development. He has worked in the telecommunications and pharmaceutical industry using a variety of software development environments and languages. He also has experience in data collection and management, system integration, and API development.

Helen Wang, MS, MBA, PMP
Scientific Project Manager

Helen Wang earned her MS in Biotechnology and MBA with a focus in Project Management.  She also holds a Project Management (PMP) certification from the Project Management Institute and has worked in academic research in Pharmacology, Physiology and Biophysics. In addition, she has experience in Infectious Disease research in government labs, and has private industry experience in Project Management on government contract projects.


NCEF Advisory Group

Frederick National Lab Advisory Committee (FNLAC) reviews the state of research at the FNLCR and makes recommendations for the best use of its capabilities and infrastructure.

Ad Hoc NCEF Working Group

An ad hoc advisory committee composed of members of the cryo-EM and structural biology communities provides advice to the NCI on operational aspects of the facility. The advisory committee members are listed below.

Ad Hoc NCEF Working Group Chair

Steven J. Ludtke, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Co-Director, National Center for Macromolecular Imaging, Center for Computational and Integrative Biomedical Research
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, Texas

Ad Hoc NCEF Working Group Members


Edward H. Egelman, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
University of Virginia School of Medicine
Charlottesville, Virginia

Angela M. Gronenborn, Ph.D.
UPMC Rosalind Franklin Professor and Chair, Department of Structural Biology
Professor, Department of Bioengineering, Swanson School of Engineering
Director, Pittsburgh Center for HIV Protein Interactions
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Grant J. Jensen, Ph.D.
Dean, College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences
Brigham Young University
Provo, Utah

Jun Liu, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbial Pathogenesis
Yale University
New Haven, Connecticut

Dimitry Tegunov, Ph.D.
Principle Scientist and Group Leader
Genentech Inc.
San Francisco, California

Z. Hong Zhou, Ph.D.
Director, Electron Imaging Center for NanoMachines
Professor, Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Molecular Genetics
Member, California NanoSystems Institute
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California

Executive Secretary

Gary Robinson, Ph.D.
NCEF Program Officer
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
Frederick, Maryland

  • Updated:

If you would like to reproduce some or all of this content, see Reuse of NCI Information for guidance about copyright and permissions. In the case of permitted digital reproduction, please credit the National Cancer Institute as the source and link to the original NCI product using the original product's title; e.g., “National Cryo-Electron Microscopy Facility Team Members was originally published by the National Cancer Institute.”