Skip to main content

Research Program Contacts

Find NCI Program Director Contacts for the following Divisions, Centers, and Offices.

NCI Divisions

Find NCI Staff and Program Director contacts for the following NCI Divisions.

Division of Cancer Biology (DCB)

DCB supports and coordinates research projects in basic cancer biology at universities, hospitals, research foundations, and businesses across the United States and abroad.
DCB Staff Directory

Tumor Biology and Microenvironment
Dr. Jeffery Hildesheim
240-276-6220
hildesheimj@mail.nih.gov

Tumor Metastasis
Dr. Nancy Boudreau
240-276-6220
nancy.boudreau@nih.gov

DCB Programs

Cancer Systems Biology Consortium
Dr. Shannon Hughes
240-276-6180
shannon.hughes@nih.gov

Physical Sciences Oncology Network 
Dr. Nastaran Zahir
240-276-7610
nas.zahir@nih.gov

Division of Cancer Control & Population Sciences (DCCPS)

DCCPS supports a comprehensive program of genomic, epidemiologic, behavioral, social, and surveillance cancer research.

DCCPS Staff Directory

Implementation Science
Dr. David Chambers
240-276-5090
dchamber@mail.nih.gov

Cancer Survivorship
Dr. Deborah Mayer
240-276-5121
deb.mayer@nih.gov

Health Disparities Research
Dr. Shobha Srinivasan
240-276-6938
Ss688k@nih.gov

Environmental Epidemiology
Dr. Gary Ellison
240-276-6783
ellisong@mail.nih.gov

Clinical and Translational Epidemiology
Dr. Andrew Freedman
240-276-6697
freedmaa@mail.nih.gov

Genomic Epidemiology
Dr. Elizabeth Gillanders
240-276-6764
lgilland@mail.nih.gov

Methods and Technologies (Epidemiology & Genomics)
Dr. Mukesh Verma
240-276-6889
vermam@mail.nih.gov

Risk Factor Assessment
Dr. Amy Subar
240-276-6695
subara@mail.nih.gov

Data Quality, Analysis, and Interpretation
Dr. Serban Negoita
240-276-5409
serban.negoita@nih.gov

Surveillance Informatics
Steve Friedman
240-276-6138
friedmast@mail.nih.gov

 

Data Analytics
Dr. Angela Mariotto
240-276-6698
Angela_mariotto@nih.gov

Statistical Research and Applications
Dr. Eric J. "Rocky" Feuer
240-276-6772
feuerr@exchange.nih.gov

Basic Biobehavioral and Psychological Sciences
Dr. Paige Green
240-276-6899
mcdonalp@mail.nih.gov

Health Communication and Informatics
Dr. William M. Klein
240-276-6972
kleinwm@mail.nih.gov

Health Behaviors
Dr. Susan Czajkowski
240-276-5871
susan.czajkowski@nih.gov

Tobacco Control
Dr. Michele Bloch
240-276-6878
blochm@mail.nih.gov

Healthcare Assessment Research
Dr. Paul Doria-Rose
240-276-6904
doriarop@mail.nih.gov

Health Systems and Interventions Research
Dr. Sarah Kobrin
240-276-6931
kobrins@mail.nih.gov

Outcomes Research
Dr. Ashley Wilder Smith
240-276-6714
smithas@mail.nih.gov

Division of Cancer Prevention (DCP)

DCP supports research to determine and reduce a person's risk of developing cancer, as well as research to develop and evaluate cancer screening procedures.

DCP Staff Directory

Biometry
Dr. Victor Kipnis
240-276-7019
kipnisv@mail.nih.gov

Breast and Gynecologic Cancer
Dr. Brandy Heckman-Stoddard
240-276-7048
heckmanbm@mail.nih.gov

Cancer Biomarkers
Dr. Sudhir Srivastava
240-276-7028
srivasts@mail.nih.gov

Chemopreventive Agent Development
Dr. Robert Shoemaker
240-276-7077
shoemakr@mail.nih.gov

Community Oncology & Prevention Trials
Dr. Worta McCaskill-Stevens
240-276-7075
mccaskiw@mail.nih.gov

Early Detection
Dr. Paul Pinsky
240-276-7014
pinskyp@mail.nih.gov

Gastrointestinal and Other Cancers
Dr. Asad Umar
240-276-7038
umara@mail.nih.gov

Lung and Upper Aerodigestive Cancer
Dr. Eva Szabo
240-276-7011
szaboe@mail.nih.gov

Nutritional Science
Dr. Harold Seifried
240-276-7123
seifrieh@mail.nih.gov

Prostate and Urologic Cancer
Dr. Howard Parnes
240-276-7045
parnesh@mail.nih.gov

Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis (DCTD)

DCTD supports the translation of promising research areas into improved diagnostic and therapeutic interventions for cancer patients.

DCTD Staff Directory

NCI Centers, Offices, and Programs

Find NCI Program Director contacts for the following NCI Centers, Offices, and Selected Programs.

Center for Cancer Training (CCT)

CCT provides funding to support training and career development for cancer researchers working at institutions nationwide and also manages intramural training programs offered at NCI laboratories and offices.

CCT Staff Directory

Dr. Jonathan Wiest
240-276-5630
wiestj@mail.nih.gov

Center for Global Health (CGH)

CGH facilitates global collaboration by leveraging research resources with U.S. government agencies, foreign governments, non-government organizations, and pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies.

CGH Staff Directory

Dr. Lisa Stevens
240-276-5810
stevensl@dc37a.nci.nih.gov

Dr. Thomas Gross
240-276-5810
thomas.gross@nih.gov

Center to Reduce Cancer Health Disparities (CRCHD)

CRCHD supports the reduction of cancer health disparities in diverse populations through research, training, and partnerships.

CRCHD Staff Directory

Diversity Research
Dr. Nelson Aguila
240-276-6161
aguilah@mail.nih.gov
Diversity Training
Dr. Peter Ogunbiyi
240-276-6176
Peter.Ogunbiyi@nih.gov

Center for Strategic Scientific Initiatives (CSSI)

CSSI creates opportunities for researchers through the development of new science initiatives, tools, and public resources to accelerate progress in cancer research.

CSSI Staff Directory

The Center for Cancer Genomics (CCG) manages TCGA and OCG

OCG supports programs that will enhance our understanding of the molecular mechanisms of cancer.

Office of Cancer Genomics
Dr Daniela Gerhard
301-451-8027
gerhardd@mail.nih.gov

Office of Cancer Clinical Proteomics Research

OCCPR supports programs in clinical proteomics and proteogenomics that will enhance our understanding of the molecular mechanisms of cancer.

OCCPR web site

Dr. Henry Rodriguez
240-781-3370
rodriguezh@mail.nih.gov

Office of Nanotechnology Research

OCNR directs the NCI Alliance for Nanotechnology in Cancer program that supports the application of nanotechnology to all aspects of cancer research.

OCNR web site

Dr. Piotr Grodzinski
301-594-6345
grodzinp@mail.nih.gov

Innovative Molecular Analysis Technologies Program (IMAT)

IMAT is a NCI initiative that supports the development of novel technologies that support clinical, laboratory, and epidemiology cancer research.

IMAT web site

Dr. Tony Dickherber
301-547-9980
anthony.dickherber@nih.gov

Office of HIV and AIDS Malignancies (OHAM)

OHAM coordinates HIV/AIDS research throughout the NCI, including programs in AIDS-related cancer.

OHAM Staff Directory

Dr. Robert Yarchoan
301-496-0328
yarchoan@helix.nih.gov

Provocative Questions Program (PQ)

PQ is a NCI initiative that intends to assemble a list of important questions, or problems that are paradoxes in cancer research that will stimulate research communities to use laboratory, clinical, and population sciences in new, effective, and imaginative ways.

PQ web site

Sean Hanlon
240-781-3310
sean.hanlon@nih.gov

Small Business & Small Business Technology Transfer (SBIR/STTR)

SBIR and STTR programs seek to increase small business and private sector participation to develop and commercialize novel technologies to prevent, diagnose, and treat cancer.

SBIR/STTR Staff Directory

Michael Weingarten
240-276-5238
weingartenm@mail.nih.gov