Contact the Division of Cancer Biology

  • Resize font
  • Print
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • Pinterest

Division of Cancer Biology
9609 Medical Center Drive MSC 9747/9748
Bethesda, MD 20892

Office of the Director

The Director’s Office oversees the activities of the branches as well as special initiatives and Programs funded by the Division. The Office also fosters emerging topics in basic cancer biology, such as cancer systems biology, physical sciences in oncology, and the tumor microenvironment, in order to facilitate the development of the field.

More information on research supported by the Office of the Director is available in the Research section.

Phone: (240) 276-6180
Fax: (240) 276-7861

Dinah Singer, Ph.D.
Division Director
singerd@mail.nih.gov

Daniel Gallahan, Ph.D.
Deputy Director
gallahad@mail.nih.gov

Cheryl Marks, Ph.D.
Associate Director
marksc@mail.nih.gov

Nastaran Zahir, Ph.D.
Associate Director
nas.zahir@nih.gov  

Jason Bunting
IT Specialist
buntingj@mail.nih.gov

Mariam Eljanne, Ph.D.
Program Director
eljannem@mail.nih.gov

Janice Embry
Program Analyst
embryj@mail.nih.gov

Karen Fleming
Program Analyst
karen.fleming@nih.gov

Elyse Gillen
Staff Assistant
elyse.gillen@nih.gov

Orisha Hayes
Program Analyst
hayesoa@mail.nih.gov

Shannon Hughes, Ph.D.
Program Director
shannon.hughes@nih.gov

Johnny Lindsay
IT Specialist
lindsayj@mail.nih.gov

Claire McCarthy, Ph.D.
Science Writing Fellow
claire.mccarthy@nih.gov 

Christine Siemon
Scientific Program Specialist
siemonc@mail.nih.gov

Erin Wetzel
Program Analyst
erin.wetzel@nih.gov

Stephen White
Special Assistant to the Director
whitest@mail.nih.gov

Matthew Whitehead
Office Automation Technician
whitehem@mail.nih.gov

Cancer Cell Biology Branch

CCBB supports and directs research that defines the biological basis for the differences between normal cells and cancer cells, with a major emphasis on studies that reveal processes and molecular targets where there is potential for therapeutic or preventive intervention.

More information on research supported by this branch is available in the Research section.

Phone: (240) 276-6230
Fax: (240) 276-7865

Barbara Spalholz, Ph.D.
Chief
spalholb@mail.nih.gov

Michael Espey, Ph.D.
Program Director
michael.espey@nih.gov

Kim Hall
Staff Assistant
Kimblee.Hall@nih.gov

Konstantin Salnikow, Ph.D.
Program Director
salnikok@mail.nih.gov

Jennifer Strasburger
Program Associate Director
jennifer.strasburger@nih.gov

Joanna Watson, Ph.D.
Program Director
watsonjo@mail.nih.gov

Keren Witkin, Ph.D.
Program Director
witkinkeren@mail.nih.gov

Rihab Yassin, Ph.D.
Program Director
yassinr@mail.nih.gov

Cancer Immunology, Hematology, and Etiology Branch

CIHEB includes the Immunology and Hematology Section and the Cancer Etiology Section.

The Immunology and Hematology Section supports studies on the basic mechanisms of anti-tumor immune responses and hematologic malignancies.

The Cancer Etiology Section supports two broad categories of studies on possible etiological factors or co-factors in cancer: biological agents (primarily viruses and bacteria) and host predisposing states including obesity, diet, and aging.

More information on research supported by this branch is available in the Research section.

Phone: (240) 276-6200
Fax: (240) 276-7867

Kevin Howcroft, Ph.D.
Chief
howcrofk@mail.nih.gov

Yvette Butler
Staff Assistant
butlery@mail.nih.gov

Phil Daschner
Program Director
daschnep@mail.nih.gov

Yvonne Duglas-Tabor
Program Associate Director
duglasy@mail.nih.gov

Chamelli Jhappan, Ph.D.
Program Director
jhappanc@mail.nih.gov

Susan McCarthy, Ph.D.
Program Director
mccarths@mail.nih.gov

Allan Mufson, Ph.D.
Head – Cancer Immunology & Hematology Section
mufsonr@mail.nih.gov

Elizabeth Read-Connole, Ph.D.
Head – Cancer Etiology Section
bconnole@mail.nih.gov

Ellen Zaika
Program Associate Director
zaikae@mail.nih.gov

DNA and Chromosome Aberrations Branch

DCAB supports basic cancer research focused on making clear the genetic and epigenetic mechanisms of tumorigenesis (tumor initiation and progression to an established cancer) and mechanisms of chemical and physical carcinogenesis.

More information on research supported by this branch is available in the Research section.

Phone: (240) 276-6250
Fax: (240) 276-7865

Judy Mietz, Ph.D.
Chief
mietzj@mail.nih.gov

Ian Fingerman, Ph.D.
Program Director
fingerma@mail.nih.gov

Ron Johnson, Ph.D.
Program Director
rjohnso2@mail.nih.gov

Paul Okano, Ph.D.
Program Director
okanop@mail.nih.gov

Richard Pelroy, Ph.D.
Program Director
pelroyd@mail.nih.gov

Anu Sharman
Program Associate Director
singha4@mail.nih.gov

Keren Witkin, Ph.D.
Program Director
witkinkeren@mail.nih.gov

Structural Biology and Molecular Applications Branch

SBMAB supports studies in three areas: technology development and molecular applications; biophysical biology; and computational/mathematical methods and bioinformatics development. The branch also supports integrated and systems biology approaches to cancer biology.

More information on research supported by this branch is available in the Research section.

Phone: (240) 276-6210
Fax: (240) 276-7863

Jennifer Couch, Ph.D.
Chief
couchj@mail.nih.gov

Robin Brown
Program Associate Director
brownrob@mail.nih.gov

Eric Johnson Chavarria, Ph.D.
AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow
eric.johnsonchavarria@nih.gov

Diana Dombrowski
Extramural Support Assistant
dombrowskidm@mail.nih.gov

Randy Knowlton, Ph.D.
Program Director
knowltoj@mail.nih.gov

Jerry Li, Ph.D.
Program Director
jiayinli@mail.nih.gov

David Miller, Ph.D.
Program Director
david.miller3@nih.gov

Katrina Theisz
Program Analyst
katrina.theisz@nih.gov

Nastaran Zahir, Ph.D.
Program Director
nas.zahir@nih.gov

Tumor Biology and Microenvironment Branch

The Tumor Biology and Microenvironment Branch supports research in tumor biology, focusing on the interaction of the cancer cell with its microenvironment and how each remodels the other, tumor heterogeneity, and acquisition of aggressive properties.

More information on research supported by this branch is available in the Research section.

Phone: (240) 276-6220
Fax: (240) 276-7866

Jeffrey Hildesheim, Ph.D.
Chief
hildesheimj@mail.nih.gov

Jennifer Isaacs, Ph.D.
Program Director
isaacsj@mail.nih.gov

Neeraja Sathyamoorthy, Ph.D.
Program Director
sathyamn@mail.nih.gov

Michelle Turner
Program Associate Director
turnermca@mail.nih.gov

Elizabeth Woodhouse, Ph.D.
Program Director
woodhousee@mail.nih.gov

Tumor Metastasis Branch

The Tumor Metastasis Branch plans, develops and directs the Division’s research program in tumor metastasis, focusing on mechanisms of metastasis and metastatic niches, circulating tumor cells, dormancy, and angiogenesis and vasculogenesis.

More information on research supported by this branch is available in the Research section.

Phone: (240) 276-6220
Fax: (240) 276-7866

Nancy Boudreau, Ph.D. 
Chief
nancy.boudreau@nih.gov

Grace Ault, Ph.D.
Program Director
aultg@mail.nih.gov

Shannon Hughes, Ph.D.
Program Director
shannon.hughes@nih.gov

Elizabeth Snyderwine, Ph.D.
Program Director
snyderwe@mail.nih.gov

Administrative Resource Center

Bridgette Tobiassen
Division ARC Manager
bt8n@nih.gov

Eric Graves
Division ARC Deputy Director
gravese@mail.nih.gov

Kelly Dyott
Administrative Officer
dyottk@mail.nih.gov

Paul Fatula
Administrative Technician
paul.fatula@nih.gov 

Kevin Greene
Administrative Officer
greenek@mail.nih.gov

Julie Russell
Administrative Officer
jrussell@mail.nih.gov

  • Posted: August 8, 2016
  • Updated: November 13, 2017