Skip to main content
An official website of the United States government

Leukemia Steering Committee Roster

The Leukemia Steering Committee (LKSC) addresses the design, prioritization, and evaluation of concepts for phase 2, 2/3, and 3 clinical trials in adult leukemia. Committee activities help foster collaboration between groups and institutions engaged in conducting trials. The LKSC's membership comprises NCTN group representatives, NCI-funded consortia representatives, community oncologists, Specialized Programs of Research Excellence (SPORE) representatives, biostatisticians, patient advocates, subject matter experts, and NCI staff.



Jessica Altman, M.D.
Northwestern University School of Medicine
Chicago, IL

Laura Michaelis, M.D.
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI



Sarit Assouline, M.D.
Jewish General Hospital
Montréal, QC, Canada

Lisa Beckendorf
Patient Advocate
Minneapolis, MN

David Cranmer
Patient Advocate
Ocala, FL

Steven Devine, M.D.
The National Marrow Donor Program/CIBMTR
Milwaukee, WI

Harry P. Erba, M.D., Ph.D.
Duke University  
Durham, NC

James M. Foran, M.D., FRCPC
Mayo Clinic
Jacksonville, FL

Boris Freidlin, Ph.D.
National Cancer Institute
Rockville, MD

Susan Geyer, Ph.D.
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN

Timothy A. Graubert
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA

Joseph G. Jurcic, M.D.
Columbia University
New York, NY

Margaret T. Kasner, M.D., M.S.C.E
Thomas Jefferson University 
Philadelphia, PA

Neil Kay, M.D.
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN

Lisa Law, M.D.
Kaiser Permanente Northern California
Roseville, CA

Richard Little, M.D.
National Cancer Institute
Rockville, MD

Selina Luger, M.D.
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA

Megan Othus, Ph.D.
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Seattle, WA

John P. Plastaras, M.D., Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania Perelman Center
for Advanced Medicine 
Philadelphia, PA

Mikkael Sekeres, M.D., M.S.
University of Miami Sylvester Cancer Center
Miami, FL

Lois Shepherd, M.D.C.M., FRCPC
Queen's University
Kingston, ON, Canada

B. Douglas Smith, M.D.
Johns Hopkins University Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive  Cancer Center
Baltimore, MD

Malcolm Smith, M.D., Ph.D.
National Cancer Institute
Rockville, MD

Robert Soiffer, M.D.
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA

Wendy Stock, M.D.
University of Chicago Medicine
Chicago, IL

Richard M. Stone, M.D.
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA

Geoffrey L. Uy, M.D.
Washington University School of Medicine
Saint Louis, MO

Eunice Wang, M.D.
Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Institute
Buffalo, NY

NCI CCCT Program Director

Elena Schwartz, Ph.D.


  • Updated: